Tag: databases

Not waving but drowning: 5 ways to learn to tackle assignments better

It’s a big, wide ocean of information out there and fishing for the things you want for your particular assignment can be challenging.  That’s where the Library can help.  Check out our top five tips below for getting on and

Posted in Services Tagged with: , , , , ,

Christmas comes early

Christmas just came early, with these two new presents for History, Culture, Media and Creative Technology students: Bloomsbury Cultural History and Faculti.  Sadly, the Christmas tree has not come early, although we are having the twinkling lights used to decorate it

Posted in Services Tagged with: , , , , ,

Disability in the Modern World

A database reminder One person in seven experiences disability (World Bank, World Report on Disability, 2015, Washington, DC). Yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Disability in the Modern World: History

Posted in Subjects: Creative Arts Tagged with: , , , , , ,

Screen Studies: From Script to Screen and Beyond!

A trial of Screen Studies runs until 2nd June. It includes: Iconic and contemporary screenplays fully-searchable, presented in industry-standard studio format, including Dunkirk, The Grand Budapest Hotel and The Big Lebowski Authoritative coverage of works by leading filmmakers such as Wes

Posted in Subjects: Creative Arts Tagged with: , ,

Aurora Metro Books Collection

© Monica Santos Herberg The Aurora Metro Books Collection is a new addition to our Drama Online subscription. It includes non-fiction books about theatre, 120 drama plays in print, including a highly contemporary list of new drama, with collections of

Posted in Subjects: Creative Arts Tagged with: ,

Resource trial: The Sixties collection

We are pleased to present a trial of Alexander Street’s “The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 -“ until Saturday 31st March 2018.  Away from the University computer network, access is via institutional (Shibboleth) login. Featuring tens of thousands of historic

Posted in Services Tagged with: , , ,

Free trial until 23 Febraury: JoVE Engineering Video collection

We have a trial running to the JoVE Engineering Video collection until Friday 23rd February.  Please send any feedback to Timothy Collinson.

Posted in Library News, Services Tagged with: , , ,

BBC Monitoring: Trial e-resource

Want access to an online resource filled with up to date news, articles, broadcasts and social media sources? Plus location specific articles from over 150 countries worldwide, and a full reference list for all bibliographic needs! Sound useful? Well a

Posted in Reviews, Subjects: Creative Arts Tagged with: ,

New e-resource trial: BBC Monitoring

We are excited to offer a trial of BBC Monitoring until 6th February 2018.   BBC Monitoring enables you to keep track of broadcast, press and social media sources in multiple languages from over 150 countries worldwide, combining translations of selected

Posted in Services Tagged with: , , , , ,

New resource: Policing Insight

Our subscription to Policing Insight is now up and running, providing full access to all articles and reports from local and national media, specialist press, police and criminal justice agencies.  You can also search the valuable Media Monitor service for

Posted in Services Tagged with: , ,